The Arsenal players on standby for PSV clash as second Champions League list is submitted


Arsenal, as expected, have submitted their B-List ahead of tonight's UEFA Champions League clash against PSV Eindhoven.

Just over a week ago, the Gunners revealed their 25-man List A squad for the group stage matches with Lino Sousa and Cedric Soares surprise inclusions whilst there was no space for summer signing Jurrien Timber. However, the latter can still be registered at a later date as long as Mikel Arteta's side are in European competition in the new year.

Furthermore, for the Gunners manager's options to be boosted for the visit of PSV, the north London outfit simply had to submit List B - unlimited number of players - no later than 11pm on Tuesday night as per the guidelines. That they did with the list showing up on UEFA's official website.

Now, a player may be registered on List B if he is born on, or after, January 1 2002 and has been eligible to play for the club concerned for any uninterrupted period of two years since his 15th birthday (players aged 16 may be submitted if they have been registered with the club for the previous two years).

This explains Karl Hein's absence from List A. Despite being promoted to the Arsenal first-team last year, he meets the requirements to be registered on List B alongside some of the club's most promising youngsters such as Ethan Nwaneri, Reuell Walters, Myles Lewis-Skelly and Amario Cozier-Duberry.

Making use of being entitled to name an unlimited number of players, the full list is as follows: Goalkeepers: Karl Hein, Ovie Ejeheri, Alexei Rojas. Defenders: Taylor Foran, Zane Monlouis, Elian Quesada-Thorn, Joshua Robinson, James Lannin-Sweet, Reuell Walters, Ayden Heaven, Luis Brown, Joshua Nichols, Michal Rosiak, Coby Small, Reece Clairmont.

READ MORE: Arsenal predicted line up vs PSV as Gabriel Jesus and Aaron Ramsdale start, Kai Havertz returns

READ MORE: Arsenal have three options to achieve Champions League success as Real Madrid predictions emerge

Midfielders: Miguel Azeez, Jack Henry-Francis, Bradley Ibrahim, Myles Lewis-Skelly, Ethan Nwaneri, Ismail Oulad M'Hand, Charles Sagoe Jr, Harrison Dudziak, Kamarni Ryan, Bless Akolbire, Louie Copley. Forwards: Amario Cozier-Duberry, Henry Davies, Khayon Edwards, Omari Benjamin, Sebastian Ferdinand, Romari Forde, Ismeal Kabia, Osman Kamara, Jakai Bascoe-Fisher.

Now when taking into consideration that Gabriel Martinelli and Thomas Partey from List A will not feature against PSV in addition to the fixture perhaps coming too soon for Mohamed Elneny to make his return from injury, Arteta could have 22 players available for selection but he is permitted to name a 23-man matchday squad.

As a result, all of the players registered on List B are likely to find themselves on standby as some may be required to make up the numbers on the substitutes bench. Having said that, one or two could be asked to pull double duty after featuring in the UEFA Youth League clash against PSV U19s earlier in the day.

Order your copy of the Gunners in Europe TODAY

Arsenal have returned to the Champions League after a six year absence - and confidence is high Mikel Arteta’s men can make a genuine run to the final at Wembley.

Our special preview of the Gunners’ 2023/24 Champions League campaign provides the ultimate guide to the tournament.

It costs just £3 and is on sale for advance order* on the online shop NOW and in retail outlets from September 17. Just click here to order your copy today.

*Delivery from 13th September onwards

Adblock test (Why?)